Clackmannanshire Sports Council

Connecting, developing and championing sport and physical activity in Clackmannanshire

Clackmannanshire’s Sports Awards for 2023

Sporting greatness across the Wee County was celebrated in an outstanding awards ceremony, recognising achievements from primary school age all the way up to adults.

Organised by the Clackmannanshire Sports Council, individuals, clubs, teams and coaches were praised for their contribution to athleticism over the past year.  Awards were handed out over a range of categories – including triumph over adversity, team of the year and junior sports personality.  The event was attended by a range of sponsors, who each stepped up to present an award, with background info regarding each nomination read out to thunderous applause.

Paddy Sherrard, chair of the Clackmannanshire Sports Council, said: “At the Clackmannanshire Sports Council Sports Awards for 2023, yet again the Wee County proved that we punch far above our weight as far as the sporting prowess and commitment of our athletes and dedication of our volunteers.

We heard great tales of how our young volunteers in our schools freely gave up their time to organise sports clubs for others; of triumphs over adversity at the Forth Valley Disability Athletics Championships; of coaches who serve as mentors, guides, and friends, inspiring greatness in our athletes; and of athletic feats on a local, national and international stage, that are founded on countless hours of sweat, sacrifice, and unwavering determination. “The standard of nominations were as high as ever this year and I thank the other volunteers on the Sports Council for their time in judging.

I would like to thank our sponsors and the team from the council’s Sports and Leisure Team for helping setting up and deliver the event. “I must single out Kenny Cook, our secretary for special mention – without his devotion, administrative eye for detail and guiding hand, it wouldn’t have been the success it was.

“Well done to every nominee, to our top three who we focused on this evening and our award winners, I am sure that everyone who attended the evening will have been inspired to even greater and better feats next year.”